Secure Messaging

Learning Center

Back to top

Search Results

Managing Messages

This page includes answers common FAQs around managing messages in Secure Messaging, including such things as tracking and controlling them. If your question is not answered here, try reviewing the documentation available on this site. If your question is still unanswered, please contact your administrator or contact Secure Messaging support: wilson@secure-messaging.com.


I can’t find a secure message

If you appear to be missing secure messages in the Secure Messaging webapp, but you can find them in Outlook (with the Secure Messaging Outlook add-in installed), make sure you are accessing the correct Secure Messaging account. (This applies only if you have multiple Secure Messaging accounts.)

Because Secure Messaging platforms are independent of one another, each has a separate Secure Messaging Center. This means that you cannot access messages of your account A from the Secure Messaging web app of your account B.

To check which Secure Messaging account a secure message is from in Outlook, simply select the message and look at what account appears at the top of the Delivery Slip.

There is also an option in Outlook to go directly to the secure message in the Secure Messaging web app. Below your organization’s name and your user name in the Delivery Slip is a button with a picture of a globe and an arrow. Click this icon to go directly to the secure message in the web app.

If there are still secure messages that you can’t find, remember to check the web app’s Archive and Trash folders, as you may have previously archived or deleted them. Both actions are independent of how your secure messages are arranged or displayed in Outlook.

Top


Can I send a secure message to anybody?

If you are a professional user, you can send a secure message to anybody and any email address. If you are a guest user or your profile is restricted (e.g., by your admin), you can only read, reply, and, in some cases, create a new secure message to professional users that you have communicated with before.

To determine your profile status, log in to the Secure Messaging web app. Your status appears next to your name at the top right.

As a professional user, you can invite a certain number of new users to Secure Messaging over a defined period of time. Under the User Group section of the Secure Message Center (Webmail), refer to the ‘User Invites’ metric to see how many new Users you can invite, and how many are left in your Secure Account for the period specified.

Top


Can I attach files to secure messages?

Of course! Simply create a new message and, on the Delivery Slip control panel to the right, either drag your attachments to where it says Drag and drop files here or click the Select files… option below that.

If you need to obtain an e-signature on the files you are sending, under E-SIGNATURE DOCUMENTS on the Delivery Slip, click Select documents for e-signature….

NOTE: while there are no file-type limitations on general attachments, e-signature attachments are limited to document and image formats (PDF, DOC, XLS, JPG, PNG, etc.)

File attachments are transferred via HTTPS using Secure Messaging servers instead of across regular SMTP connections, unreliable FTP, or unsecure third-party websites—all of which are very limited in security, speed, and allowable file size. Secure Messaging will upload your attachment to the cloud where it will reside for recipients to retrieve as desired.

Not only is using Secure Messaging to exchange file attachments safer, but it allows for the safe sharing of large files (up to 5 GB per file). Plus, files are trackable and auditable, and therefore, easier to manage in the Secure Messaging Attachment Library, or directly in Outlook.

One of the major benefits you will notice using Secure Messaging to send file attachments is that you have the option to download file attachments when and how you choose. This “pull vs. push” approach is unique to Secure Messaging and allows you to download only the file attachments that you want to keep on your local computer. There are no file size restrictions, and large file attachments will not slow down the email send/retrieve processes due to the unique asynchronous process. An additional benefit is that attachments are not automatically downloaded to your mobile devices and, therefore, don’t take up valuable storage space or use up valuable data quotas.

Top


Can unregistered recipients read secure messages?

No, they cannot. If you are a professional user and send a secure message that includes unregistered recipients, a “New user detected” window will appear with an invite prompt. If you agree, the unregistered recipients will be sent an invitation to register as a guest. Once they have registered and been authenticated, they will then be able to access the contents of the secure message. (Guest users cannot send invitations to create accounts.)

Top


Does tracking record an email being opened multiple times by the same recipient?

Yes, each time a user opens the same message it gets recorded for auditing purposes, but message participants are notified only when the message is first accessed.

Top


What does it mean when a message is recalled?

The Secure Messaging Platform allows senders to truly recall messages that were sent in error. When a message is recalled, recipients are no longer able to access the secure message or its file attachments. The only thing that recipients will see is the message subject line and a notice that the message has been recalled by the sender, even if using Microsoft Outlook.

Only senders may recall a message, and once recalled, a message cannot be recovered by the recipients (unless they have already archived it outside of their email program). When recalling a secure message, senders are optionally able to give an explanation, which will be displayed to any recipients that try to access the message.

Top


What time zone is the tracking displayed for?

Yours!

Times and dates are synced with the time and date of wherever you happen to be at the moment. If you’re on a laptop in Seattle, and the tracking says “Retrieved at 2:45pm,” your colleague on a desktop in New York is going to see “Retrieved at 5:45pm.” This is achieved by recording all dates in Universal Time (GMT) and using your local settings to provide the proper offset. This ensures that you always know when things are happening in the proper frame of reference.

Top