Secure Messaging

Learning Center

Back to top

Search Results

Create a Secure Message

This page explains how to create a new secure message in your email progam or in the Secure Messaging webapp and also provides a brief overview of the options available to you in the Delivery Slip.


The general process for composing a new secure message is very similar to the process for creating a new message using any email program (Outlook, Gmail, etc.). Once you’ve added Secure Messaging to your email program, a “New Secure” button will appear next to the button for composing a new email in your program (e.g., in Outlook it’s “New Email,” in Gmail it’s “Compose”).

To create a secure message, simply click New Secure instead of “New Email” or “Compose” as you would if composing a basic (unsecured) email.

Below are shown the New Secure buttons that are added to various programs after you have installed Secure Messaging, as well as a screenshot of the “New” button in the stand-alone Secure Messaging webapp.

NOTE: Professional users can compose new secure messages to anyone; guest users are restricted to only reply to or compose to the professional users they have received a secure message from previously. See the PRO vs. GUEST Users page for a full breakdown of the two roles.

Outlook

Outlook: New Secure Button

Outlook for Office 365

Office 365: New Secure Button

Gmail

New Secure Button

Secure Messaging Webapp

Webapp: New Button


Delivery Slip Options

Adding attachments or documents to be e-signed and controlling and tracking messages.

Once you have created a new secure message, added recipients, and composed the body of the message, there are a number of additional things you can do. Options include adding attachments or documents to be e-signed (these are described more fully in How to Share Large Files and How to Provision E-Signatures), as well as a number of options for controlling and tracking new secure messages (described more fully in Using the Delivery Slip). Here is a quick overview:

Delivery Slip Overview
  1. Share large files:To add attachment(s), simply drag and drop your attachment(s) into the “Drag and drop files here” field under SECURE FILES in the Delivery Slip, or click that same field and locate the files you want to add. NOTE: Unless otherwise limited by your portal admin, you can add up to 5 GBs of attachments per message. Also, unless otherwise enforced by your organization, there are no file format restrictions. If any file formats are restricted (or if you exceed the allowable maximum file size), you will receive an error message when attempting to attach the file.
  2. Request e-signatures: From the E-SIGNATURE DOCUMENTS section of the Delivery Slip, click Select documents for e-signature… and choose the file you need to be signed. NOTE: Anyone in the TO field will become required signatories of the files attached to this message; if you want to include anyone else in the conversation, but don’t need their signatures, add them in the CC or BCC fields. CC and BCC recipients will be able to view the files and track the progress of the file (if tracking is enabled), but will not be able to sign the file.
  3. Reply freeze: Recipients will be restricted from replying to all participants on this secure message. Recipients can still reply to you (the sender).
  4. Forward freeze: Recipients will be restricted from forwarding this secure message and its associated files and e-signature documents. NOTE: Recipients will still have the ability to take a picture of their screens to share data outside of the Secure Messaging portal.
  5. Confidential: Recipients will have to re-enter the same password they used to access the Secure Messaging portal every time they access this secure message its associated files and e-signature documents.
  6. For Your Eyes Only (FYEO): Recipients will have to enter a code every time they access this secure message and its associated files and e-signature documents. You will be prompted to create this code when you send this secure message and its contents. NOTE: You will need to communicate this code to the recipients via another method; e.g. phone or SMS.
  7. Real-time tracking: When enabled, this lets your know when your secure message, associated files, and e-signature documents are retrieved, replied to and/or forwarded. If you do not want to track this secure message and its contents, disable this option.
  8. Share tracking: If this option is enabled, real-time tracking information (described above) will be shared with all recipients. If you do not want to share the tracking information of this secure message and its contents, turn off this option.
NOTES:

  • There are ways to circumvent some of the message controls by copying and pasting the content into a basic email or taking a screenshot. The added controls are not intended for use as information rights management, only to convey a preference to your recipients, which will prevent accidental misuse of information.
  • Some features might not be available depending on the configuration of the Secure Messaging portal and your User Group profile. If you would like to use a feature that is disabled, contact your administrator for more information.

 

Last updated August 22, 2016