Back to top

Search Results

Invite New Users

This page explains how pro users can invite new users to their secure messaging portal, and explains the difference between pro and guest users.

TROUBLESHOOTING: Access to a secure messaging portal is free for all licensed users and invited guests. To log in to a secure messaging portal, you need to be invited. If you are expecting an invitation but have yet to receive it, please contact your organization’s IT administrator or the person from whom you were expecting the invitation.
NOTE: Guest users have limited functionality and are not able to invite other users. If you are a pro user, you will be able to invite both pro and guest users. For additional information on the two user groups and their capabilities, please see Pro & Guest Users

There are two distinct types of users that can be registered on your secure messaging portal: professional, or pro for short, and guest users. Each type has different abilities and restrictions. User types and capability can be upgraded or downgraded at any time by the portal administrator or be automatically provisioned via the API.

  • Pro users:
    A pro user has full rights to the features enabled on the secure messaging portal and typically consists of your organization’s staff. Pro users can invite new users, create new secure messages, share large files, create documents for approval and electronic signature, and recall messages and files. For billing purposes, each pro user counts as a billable user.
  • Guest users:
    Guest users are always free, but have limited access to certain features. Guest users typically consist of external clients, partners, or business associates. Guest users can read, reply, and compose secure messages to pro users. They can send and receive large files and can provide electronic signatures when requested from pro users. They cannot recall messages, invite new users to the secure messaging portal, or create electronic signature requests. For billing purposes, guest users are free and do not count as paying users. An organization can invite as many guest users it wants without any additional cost.

 
 

Secure Messaging Invite New User

 
 

  1. As a pro user, inviting new users is as simple as sending new recipients a secure message. On ‘Send’, using any apps including the Outlook add-in, the portal will detect the new users and will prompt you to confirm their invitation to your portal.

Upon your confirmation, the new recipients are automatically invited as guest users. New users of the same email domain as yours can automatically be provisioned as pro users, depending how your portal is set up by your administrator. The recipients will receive two regular email notifications as part of the initial setup: one is a message notification (message notifications are sent with any secure message); the other is the invitation message to register with your portal. The new users should be instructed to click the link in the invitation message to launch the registration process.

Clicking the registration link will direct the new user to the registration page of your portal, which will include instructions on how to enter their account information. Once the new users have registered, they will be logged in to your secure messaging portal, where they can view and reply to their secure messages.

Last updated October 04, 2017.