Secure Messaging

Learning Center

Back to top

Search Results

User Account

Every user is individually manageable from the Dashboard simply by clicking on their Email Address from the grid of users. Note that you may have to ‘Update Dashboard’ before you can access newer user accounts.

Web Admin console User Account

  1. As an Admin user, the Email Address of each user cannot be changed. It is used as a UUID throughout the platform. To add Email Aliases to a user, see section 9 below.
  2. The user’s First and Last Name can be edited by the admin user. The default name displayed is as entered when the user registered.
  3. Select the User Group assigned to this user. The changes are immediate. Every User Group has a User type assigned, Professional and Guest. For billing purposes, only Professional types (enabled) count.
  4. Status: For auditability purposes, users cannot be deleted. However, any user can be ‘disabled’. A disabled user cannot log in, and does not incur billing charges. Furthermore, other users are prevented from sending secure messages to a disabled user. To disable a user, select Status ‘Disabled’ and click ‘Save and Close’. Disabled users can be re-enabled again at any time using the same Status option. This will re-enable their access to all their original settings, including all secure messages and file attachments.

    Language: if the Multi-lingual Support module is enabled, you can set the user preferred language.

  5. Use the Blacklist Mode to enforce blacklisting of keywords and regular expressions for this user. There are two options available to Professional users. For Guest users, this option is automatically set to ‘Secure Messages Only’ and cannot be changed.
    • Secure Messages Only (MS Outlook & Webmail):
      The blacklist will be applied to secure messages only, in both MS Outlook and the Secure Webmail. Any user including a blacklisted item in the body or subject line of a secure message will not be allowed to send the message, and will receive an error asking them to remove the keyword in order to send. Blacklisted items are defined under Security Policies in the Web Admin Console.
    • Secure and Basic (MS Outlook Only): The blacklist will be applied to secure messages in both MS Outlook and the Webmail client, as well as basic email messages in MS Outlook. Any user including a blacklisted item in the body or subject line of a message will not be allowed to send the message, and will receive an error asking them to remove the keyword in order to send. Blacklisted items are defined under Security Policies in the Web Admin Console.
  6. Use the ‘Default Secure Mode’ to enforce sending a message secure based on keywords and regular expressions detected in MS Outlook. There are three options available to Professional users. For Guest users, this option is automatically set to ‘Never’ and cannot be changed.
    • Never: User is never forced to send the message as a secure message, even if the message contains keywords from the DLP Enforce Secure list under Security Policies in the Web Admin Console.
    • Based on keywords/algorithms: User is forced to send the message as a secure message if it contains keywords from the DLP Enforce Secure list under Security Policies in the Web Admin Console.
    • Always: User cannot create a basic email message. All new messages are composed as a secure message, including replies and forwards to basic (unsecure) emails.
  7. Preactivation Identity: used for advanced support cases where Exchange users require manual bindings to their SMTP Email Address. Manually specify the ‘Preactivation Identity’ from Microsoft Exchange to allow activation for unknown SMTP email address. This feature is used only for L3 support cases.
  8. Once all changes are complete, use the ‘Save’ or ‘Save and Close’ buttons.
    • To trigger the password reset on behalf of a user, use the ‘Reset Password’ button. A notification message will be sent to the user’s basic email account with instructions on how to reset their password. Use this button if a user has requested that their password be reset, or if they report they have not received a reset password message. This button is only displayed for users who have completed the registration process.
    • ‘Send Activation’: This button sends an Activation message to this user, allowing them to activate the Secure MS Outlook Toolbar. Use this button if a user requires that the Toolbar Activation message be sent again, or if they did not receive an Activation message. This button is only displayed for users who have completed the registration process.
    • ‘Resend Invitation’: This button resends the Invitation message to this user. Use this option of the user requests a new Invitation message, or if they did not receive the original invitation message. This button is only displayed for users who have been invited, but have not started or completed the registration process.
    • ‘Resend Registration’: This button resends the Registration Confirmation message to this user. Use this option if the user requests a new Registration Confirmation message, or if they did not receive the original message. This button is only displayed for users who have started the registration process, but have not entered their Confirmation Code to complete the registration process.
  9. User Email Aliases: This option allows an administrator to set up email aliases on behalf of the user. Add all the user’s basic email aliases, or MS Exchange aliases with the ‘Add Email Alias’ button. The user will receive email alias confirmation messages, requiring them click a link to prove they own the email address. Until they complete this step, the email alias configuration will not be complete, and the alias will be listed as (P) for ‘Pending Confirmation’. For Guest users, this option is disabled. Email alias support requires a Professional user license.