Secure Messaging

Learning Center

Back to top

Search Results

What does it mean when a message is ‘recalled’?

The Secure Messaging Platform allows senders to truly recall messages that were sent in error. When a message is recalled, recipients are no longer able to access the secure message or its file attachments. The only thing that recipients will see is the message subject line, and a notice that the message has been recalled by the sender, even if using Microsoft Outlook.

Only senders may recall a message, and once recalled, a message cannot be recovered by the recipients unless they archived it outside of MS Outlook. When recalling a secure message, senders are optionally able to give an explanation, which will be displayed to any recipients that try to access the message.