Secure Messaging

Learning Center

Back to top

Search Results

Creating a secure message

The general process for composing a new secure message is very similar to the process for creating a new message using any email system. To begin, simply press the ‘New Secure’ button.

As the creator of a new secure message, you control the delivery options. If you don’t want to receive any replies, you can turn on ‘ReplyFreeze’. If you don’t want users to be able to forward the secure message, you can turn on ForwardFreeze. As the creator of a new secure message, you also control the tracking options. You can choose to enable tracking or disable it. If you disable tracking, no one (not even you) will be able to view the tracking data. If you choose not to share the tracking, then your recipients will not have access to the tracking information, though you will.

Outlook Toolbar New
NOTE: There are ways to circumvent these controls. They are not intended for use as information rights management, only to convey a preference to your recipients, which will prevent accidental misuse of information.

Once you have written your message and addressed it to the proper recipients, you can change some of the delivery slip options at the right hand side of the message compose area. Alternatively, you can start composing a basic unsecure email and use the ‘Send Secure’ button located above the regular ‘Send’ button in Outlook®. In order to maintain the integrity of a secure message, all replies and forwards will be sent secure in the secure messaging platform. The delivery slip pane allows you to set the initial conversation options. If you are replying or forwarding a secure message, these options cannot be modified.

NOTE: Some features might not be available depending on the configuration of the secure messaging platform and your user group profile. Contact your administrator for more information.

  1. For new secure messages, click ‘New Secure’ from the Toolbar or Ribbon in Outlook. Alternatively, you can change the delivery option when creating a new basic message by using the delivery slip pane in the compose window; ideal when replying or forwarding a basic email message that now needs to be secure. If you started your email in basic mode, you can also use the ‘Send Secure’ button (located above the regular ‘Send’ button in Outlook®) to send your message securely using your default secure messaging platform. Finally, in some instances, using the keyword ‘#secure’ in the subject line will also send the message securely automatically. Contact your administrator to enable this feature.
  2. The message details section allows you to set the delivery options for a new secure message, including freeze and enhanced security options.
  3. The freeze options allow you to disable the ability for recipients to reply and / or forward your secure message using the secure messaging platform. It does not, however, prevent recipients from ‘copying & pasting’ the content of your secure message into a document or another unsecure basic email message. These settings cannot be changed once the conversation is engaged.
  4. Use the enhanced security options to enable the unique patented feature ‘For Your Eyes Only (F.Y.E.O). F.Y.E.O. allows you to request that each recipient enters either their secure account password or a unique password that you set, every time they wish to read or re-read your secure message. This includes replies or forwards to your original secure message (valid for the duration of the conversation). Use this feature to increase accountability and non-repudiation, or to protect certain secure messages if you delegate your mailbox to someone else in your organization.
  5. To include file attachments with your secure message, simply use the regular method of inserting attachments (same workflow as with a basic email message: Outlook® paper-clip button or drag & drop).
  6. If the file attachments are larger than 50MB (total size), use the delivery slip button ‘Attach a File’. Using this button will circumvent all restrictions that are imposed by Microsoft Outlook.
  7. Use the tracking options to enable or disable tracking for your secure message, and select whether you want to share the results with all recipients or keep the results to yourself. Tracking allows the senders and recipients to see if any of the recipients retrieved, read, replied to, forwarded, printed, or deleted the secure message. These settings cannot be changed once the conversation is engaged.